The Difference Between Certificate III and IV in Aged Care

Share This Post

If you want to start a rewarding career in community services work, aged care is a great place to begin. If you are a people person and enjoy looking after the welfare of others, aged care could be the career path you’ve been searching for.

So, how do you get started in a career in aged care and community services?

The answer is to first seek some training that gives you the qualifications you need to secure an entry-level role. This begins with Certificate III In Aged Care and is expanded upon with the Certificate IV In Aged Care course.

This article will be taking a look at these two nationally recognized aged care courses, so you can understand the differences between the two, what you’ll learn, and what’s required.

To begin with, the two courses have slightly different names:

  1. Certificate III in Individual Support (Ageing)
  2. Certificate IV in Ageing Support

Let’s now take a closer look at the 2 courses.

 Certificate III in Individual Support (Ageing)

This certificate course is part of certificate 3 in community services range of courses. It’s an entry-level course that equips participants with the basics required to commence work in an aged care support role.

The course is made up of 13 units of competency, 7 of which are core units and 6 elective units. To successfully complete and pass the course, students are not only required to complete their units of competency but must also log a total of 120 hours working within an approved service for practical training purposes. You’ll be provided with a Practicum Booklet, in which you will log your work hours as you follow the tasks detailed within the booklet.

As far as entry requirements go, there are none, other than having obtained a School Certificate or equivalent. Before commencing work as part of your studies, you will have to provide a National Police Certificate.

Let’s now take a peek at the 7 core elements this training covers:

  • HLTWHS002 – Following safe work practices for direct client care
  • HLTAAP001 – Recognising healthy body systems
  • CHCCOM005 – Communicate and work in health or community services
  • CHCDIV001 – Work with a diverse range of people
  • CHCLEG001 – Working legally and ethically
  • CHCCCS015 – How to provide individualized support
  • CHCCCS023 – Support independence and well-being

Certificate III in Individual Support (Ageing) is a prerequisite for being able to participate in the Certificate IV in Ageing Support course.

 Certificate IV in Ageing Support

Once you’ve completed Certificate III, you are eligible to sign up for the Certificate IV course. It has a total of 18 competency units, 15 of which are core units and 3 elective units. Once again, a minimum of 120 hours working in an approved service is required to successfully complete the course.

Certificate IV is more advanced than the Certificate III course. Not only does it further equip you with the skills to land a job in aged care, but it’s also a stepping stone to further study in this field.

To do the course, you must pass a Working With Vulnerable People check, as well as a National Police check.

Let’s look at what makes up the 15 core competency units:

  • CHCADV001 – Be able to facilitate the interests and rights of clients
  • CHCAGE001 – Facilitating the empowerment of older people
  • CHCAGE003 – How to coordinate services for older people
  • CHCAGE004 – Implementing interventions with older people who are at risk
  • CHCAGE005 – Learn how to provide support to people living with dementia
  • CHCCCS006 – Facilitate individual service planning and delivery
  • CHCCCS011 – Meeting personal support needs
  • HLTWHS002 – Following safe work practices for implementation of direct client care
  • CHCCCS023 – Supporting independence and wellbeing
  • CHCCCS025 – How to support relationships with carers and families
  • CHCDIV001 – Working with diverse people
  • CHCLEG003 – Manage legal and ethical compliance
  • CHCPAL001 – Delivering care services using a palliative approach
  • CHCPRP001 – How to develop and maintain networks and collaborative partnerships
  • HLTAAP001 – Learn how to recognize healthy body systems

As you can see, Certificate IV is a lot more advanced and involved than the Certificate III course, although both are highly desirable.

 In Conclusion

Both Certificate III and Certificate IV In Aged Care are exceptional courses that will give you the knowledge and experience to commence a rewarding career in community service work and aged care.

Related Posts

- Advertisement -spot_img